ADHD is a complex issue

ADHD2

Don’t think for a second that you’ll be able to look at a person and decide whether or not he or she has ADHD. The variations are just too great for anyone to do that. The illustration above presents how I think about the disorder.

Take me, for example. I have problems with processing information, and I have dyslexia (thank you, spellchecker), and I am inattentive. However, I am not hyperactive and I am most thankful for that.

That doesn’t make my personality any less ADHD than anyone else, however. The acronym is just a way to gather up the different pieces of a possible diagnosis into a single word, for ease of use. I found this article which explains it all quite well. Unfortunately, easily understanding something also means that few people will actually understand it.

I’ll return for more once I am finished gathering my thoughts on this subject. 🙂

Leave a Reply

